American Academy of Ophthalmology Leadership Development Program

The Academy is very pleased to announce that the following twenty Eye M.D.s were chosen via a competitive selection process to participate in the Academy’s Leadership Development Program (LDP) XIV, Class of 2012.

A sincere thanks to all the state, sub specialty and specialized interest societies who submitted nominees. In addition, the international participant who was selected, Michiyo Stern, MD of Japan, was nominated by the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology.

As participants on the LDP Selection Committee, we can personally express what a difficult job we had in selecting amongst an impressive pool of nominees. Based on program evaluations, we are committed to maintaining a small class size to maximize interaction and collaborative learning.

Congratulations to the LDP XIV, Class of 2012!

Wesley H. Adams, MD – Montana Academy of Ophthalmology

Natalie A. Afshari, MD – Ocular Microbiology & Immunology Group

Ronald A. Braswell, MD – Alabama Academy of Ophthalmology

Susan K. Burden, MD – North Carolina Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

Geoffrey G. Emerson, MD, PhD – American Society of Retina Specialists

Sidney K. Gicheru, MD – Texas Ophthalmological Association

Neeru Gupta, MD, PhD – Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology

Don O. Kikkawa, MD – American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery

Alan E. Kimura, MD – Colorado Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

Mark R. Nelson, MD – Tennessee Academy of Ophthalmology

Tatyana Milman, MD – American Society of Ophthalmic Oncologists and Pathologists

Nicholas M. Mittica, MD – New Mexico Academy of Ophthalmology

Daniel E. Neely, MD – American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology & Strabismus

Millicent Palmer-Johnson, MD – Nebraska Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

Jeff H. Pettey, MD – Utah Ophthalmological Society

Nathan M. Radcliffe, MD – American Glaucoma Society

William W. Richardson II, MD – Kentucky Academy of Eye Physicians and Surgeons

Michiyo Stern, MD – Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology

Eric. R. Thomas, MD – South Dakota Academy of Ophthalmology

Anthony J. Viti, MD – Virginia Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
The class will begin with an Orientation Session held in conjunction with the Academy’s Annual Meeting in Orlando. The LDP XIV, Class of 2012, will be joined by participants in the Pan American Association of Ophthalmology’s Curso de Liderazgo for this orientation session as well as for their January 2012 session in San Francisco.

If you have any questions about the Academy’s Leadership Development Program, please contact
Gail Schmidt, Director of Ophthalmic Society Relations.